Does the Internal Auditor provide ratings? (D/SD/MW) 2389

• I am a SOx risk manager at a mid-size financial institution. We do not have our own internal audit area so, we’ve engaged an outside audit company to perform audit testing for internal audit and for SOx. We have engaged one of the Big 4 audit companies as our external auditor.
    The question is whether the internal auditor (who is acting as management) should provide ratings for our Sox key controls. (I.E.; identify the effective key controls, or if exceptions occur, specifically rate the exception as a deficiency, significant deficiency, or material weakness). The internal auditor is reluctant to provide ratings even though the external auditor has requested it.
    Thanks in advance for your help.

• As management, I think that you need to rate each deficiency as to magnitude. This will allow you to consolidate your deficiencies at the end of the year to come up with an overall position as to the effectiveness of your controls. How else will you be able to determine whether or not you have a significant deficiency (required to be reported to auditors, Audit Committee and Sr management) or a material weakness (required to be reported externally?

• Thank you for your fast reply, Kymike.
    Just to clarify your response, may I infer that you include the internal auditor as ‘management’? Since this is our first year for SOx, my company is looking to the internal auditor for guidance in the assessment of exceptions. The internal audit firm’s hesitance to commit to a rating is troublesome.