Who should audit IT and security controls? 140

• I’m new to SOX, so I have what may be a very elementary question.
    At my company, the IT staff is responsible for auditing SOX IT internal controls. Essentially, we help to design the test, we select a tester, and we demonstrate the controls. For the most part, we are testing our own controls. Shouldn’t the testing of IT controls and security (for which we are responsible as well) be assigned to a more impartial auditor?

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• You are exactly correct. Your company should employ an IT auditor who does not report to the IT staff in order to be impartial and have proper segregation of duties. The difficulty in this lies in the fact that most auditors are not specialized in the IT area limiting their ability to perform IT audits and currently those with the skillset are in such high demand it is extremly difficult for a company to find personnel with adequate experience. For your external firm to place any reliance on your testing it will need to be impartial, which will assist in decreasing your overhead when it comes to your external audit. If you have IT personnel perform the audit you, are compromising the audit so that the externals will not feel comfortable attesting that your work performed was unbias and will typically re-perform all testing. I would look into hiring an external internal audit consultant exclusively for testing of IT so that your company does not have to pay your external auditors to do the work when they come in and chance finding a significant deficiency or material weakness.

• I will have to disagree with the above poster.