Staff Requirements 281

• I am trying to gather some information to justify more people for my organizations sarbanes oxley effort. We are going through our first round final audits and I am a staff and manager of myself in this effort. I work for a newspaper in the Baltimore MD area that is part of the Tribune Organization. I am trying to find out what other organizations have on staff as far as people dedicated to this effort. What are their job descriptions and also are they dedicated 100 %to this effort. %0ARight now I’m forced to write procedures and policies on the fly and don’t have time to do monitoring like I should. We have little if any system documentation which desperately needs to be done along with many other areas of improvement. Would love to hear from anyone else regarding their efforts and staff size. %0AThank you%0AEllen

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• It sounds like you are in a difficult position. To adequately work out your resource requirement you really need to have one (or several) person fully dedicated to the project scoping. It’s only once you’ve done this that you’ll be able to make the case to senior management about your resource requirements.
    As you appear to be part of a larger group you probably need to,somehow, get interfaced with the SOx programme/project team if there is one. I would put the onus on them to steer you in the right direction.
    Ultimately you can’t budger your resource unless you know what you have to deliver.
    However, it could well be that if your operation is a smaller part of a larger group that your requirement is minimal.
    Hope this helps.