Documents comprising SOx laws and rules 367

• I am just beginning the effort of understanding SOx laws and rules, from the bottom up. I was approached about a job overseeing SOx compliance for a small public company. I have spent the past five years starting, growing, and selling a private software company. Therefore, have been a wee bit out of the corporate public company loop.
    My goal is to identify all laws, rules, and any other documents that dictate the requirements to be SOx compliant. I understand that Congress passed the Sarbanes Oxley Act on 7/30/02. This is just the law, and the SEC needs to implement this law by making rules for companies to follow. The SEC subsequently has passed rules on this Act. I have found these rules on PwC’s website.
    My question is this: If I print out all of the ‘Final Rules’ that the SEC has passed with respect to SOx, will I have a comprehensive set of the requirements to be SOx compliant? If not, how do I identify the entire body of work that encompasses the requirements for SOx compliance? What other rules, laws, or documents are necessary, and what resource is available to help someone understand the full scope of required guidelines (assuming it’s not just the ‘Final Rules’ of the SEC)?
    For example, I just found a document on the PwC site called ‘PCAOB Final Auditing Standard An Audit of Internal Control Over Financial Reporting Performed in Conjunction with an Audit of Financial Statements’. Does this supercede, supplement, or amend the SEC rules? Do I need to understand it in order to fully understand Sox compliance? (It won’t let me download it right now, so I can’t get a feel for it).

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!