SOX _and_amp; Change Control _and_amp; SDLC 381

• Does the SDLC documentation process have to be changed to reflect the SOX 404 requirements and if so which step in the process does this occur? Also, how about Change Control? I am relatively new to this and I am looking for any advice on these topics. Thank you.

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• This post is deleted!

• No, but you should have a documented SDLC process and effective controls within it. If can’t prove that the controls you have within the process are effective, then you may have to change something.
    You also should have a look at the ‘IT Control Objectives for Sarbanes Oxley’ doc. at the isaca homepage.

• Your SDLC process documentation MAY have to change to satisfy SOX. Look at the document Holger refers to and this will tell you the control objectives that are pertinent to SDLC, it may be that you do have to formalise your docuementation of various aspects of the process - in fact based on other projects I’ve worked on I would go so far as to say it is likely.

• Hi:
    As part of Application Controls within General IT Control’s framework- there are significant controls that are embedded within a company’s Software Development Methodology.
    As far as Sarbanes is concerned, IT General Controls are usual target of an auditor. If the your company has a large development environment, or if your key (home grown/ if you have access to the source code) applications are contributing to the Company’s financial reporting systems then you have a bigger burden to gear towards the SOX 404 testing.
    From IT Audit stand point the first place for software life cycle testing is company’s SDLC methodology. In my experience, some of our clients had no SDLC methodology, some had good ones and some had proudly wanted to adopt the best methodologies from the web etc,.