How to Test/Document the Close/Consolidation Process 484

• How do you document and test Analytical type Controls?%0AHi there,%0AI’d be very interested to start a discussion on the above. The company I work for is a large Multinational which has various levels of Consolidation and Analytical Review. I work at the Group Level and have been tasked with Documenting the Consolidation and Close Process. I’m new in the company, and while we have the processes documented in text form for quite some time, I think that the identification of the Close Controls, is somewhat vague, such as ‘Each controller is responsible for certain reporting units. The controller reviews all relevant financial reports relating to the reporting unit that is his/her responsibility.’%0AWe have a 31.12 FY and were hoping to dry run our YE Controls in advance of going live 31.12.05, so the questions remain…%0AHow can you test this/these type(s) of control(s)?%0ADo you go down the road of prescriptive type controls (above % ratios = review etc)?%0AHow do you write a control that relies on a person’s expert knowledge to follow up on unusual items?%0AHow to do you document these follow ups (keep e-mails, checklists, conference call minuets etc)?%0AHas anyone else come across this problem, surely yes?%0AI await in anticipation… :?:

• What you have there sounds a bit weak to me.
    Firstly, there is an element of the close process which is mechanical - something like this:
    At an organisational unit level:

1. Close Sub-Ledgers
    2. Balance Inter-Company
    3. Calculate Provisions and Accruals
    4. Post General Ledger journals
    5. Close General Ledger
    6. Prepare ConsolidationPack
      At Group Level:
    7. Compile Conolidation Packs
      8, Make consolidation adjustments
    8. Compile Financial Statements