What Questions to Ask (and what to look out for)? 1037

• I will be interviewing with a big 4 group that does Sarbanes-Oxley Section 404 mandated assurance.
    While a experienced IT’er, I am new to the accounting world. What type of questions do I need to ask, or what do I need to look out for (jobwise)?

• some questions to ask may include:

• what are their biggest challenges facing them this year?
    • what are the main areas an IT person would need to ramp up on to be a successful auditor?
    • is there a profile of a typical engagement? if not, can they provide some examples without giving away too much confidential info.
    • what do they see you accomplishing in the first 30 days? 60 days? 90days?
    • describe a typical work day. week. month. (listen carefully as there is a lot of overtime being worked…weekends and evenings)
    • do they require you pursue certifications such as CISA, CIA, etc?
    • what is the typical travel schedule?
    • any others that you can think of

• well, it went OK. The partner who I met with seemed to question why an IT guy with 20 years of experience in IT would want to be the bottom of the ladder man in an Audit department. I explained that in order to move up in public acct one needed to be a CPA, and I was willing to put up with a year or two of BS assignments to get that title. I don’t know if she bought it. I thought that she did, but I spoke to someone who interviewed with her afterward (for the same department) who had a different take on it. She did try to talk me into applying for a position in Advisory, until I explained the reason for the CPA. She agreed with me, BTW, that this was the way to move up.

• Thanks for the info. I am facing a similar situation. They will try to figure out why would I want to take a junior position in an audit group instead of moving on into a level 2 or level 3 IT role.