Question about records. 1506

• Hello - I am a manager of a local business here in Baton Rouge, LA. I recently purchased some disposable pens with the companies name and address on them. My intention was to give the pens away to potential customers as they signed a contract for our services. Thye pens are USD.50 a piece. My direct boss informed me that I was required by the Sarbanes-Oxlet Act to document on a spreadsheet where each and every one of those pens go (i.e. which customer, name of person receiving pen, etc…). Personally I think he has gone a little overboard with this, but I need to make sure. Any help would be appreciated.
    Tim

• You must be joking

• Hi Tim and welcome to the forums 🙂
    I also agree with FS that this seems way outside the guidelines of SOX compliancy. SOX is about managing MAJOR financial risks and assurances that no one is cooking the books. These USD.50 gifts to promote your local branch should not even come into play in your company’s efforts in achieving SOX compliancy.
    Nevertheless, I’d setup a spreadhsheet and do as the boss says until told otherwise. Maybe your company has some standard in place related to ‘gifts’ regardless of their size? Your manager is simply following the rules as he sees them.
    Hopefully, some of the experts here will chime in and share information to change this situation.

• for you…www.monster.com
    for ‘the man’…www.stupidbosses.com

• Hello Flanker12, and welcome to the SOx forum:
    I agree with all statements that FS, Harry, and Milan contributed.
    However, I would be happy to send a staff auditor to Baton Rouge to assist your manager develop an appropriate spreadsheet. (We have a ‘Special Rate’ for these types of situations.)
    We will be assisting your manager, because I hope that you take Milan’s suggestion seriously and discover a new opportunity with another company.
    Best reagrds.
    John