What background is required to work in a SOX environment? 1570

• I have been a Project Manager in the IT area for approximately 15 years. My formal education and original career was in Accounting. As an accountant I did work for a major accounting firm and have some experience in the audit area.
    As a Project Manager I’ve implemented and upgraded IT systems in a number of environments. These situaitons have involved working for large and small companies and dealing with both internal and external clients. The success of these implementations is a result of applying buisness knowledge to IT implementations, being able to translate conversations between IT and business owners, and understaning the business objective underlying an IT implementation.
    To maintain my CPA I’ve taken several self study courses about Sarbanes Oxley. I’ve also spoken to people who are involved with SOx implementations. One common complaint I hear is that SOx implementations are often lacking a Project Management viewpoint - there’s no definition of what is to be accomplished, how to accomplish a stated goal, how to measure how / if the goal is accomplished.
    I have investigating career opportunities managing a SOx implementation. I’ve not gotten very far - most conversations I’ve had end quickly because of my lack of specific SOx experience.
    Are there opportunities available that would require the background I have? Any ideas of how to use my background in a SOx career opportunity is appreciated.
    Dan

• Hi,
    From a quick review of your professional qualification (CPA) and work experience (IT PM), you seem to have the basic and requisite educational and work experiences to participate on a SOX implementation.