Section 404 Assignment 1807

• I was recently assigned a report pertaining to section 404 of the SOX and am looking for a little help with it. The ‘situation’ this assignment gives is that I am to be advising a senator whether to be in favor of or against this sections provisions and have to outline the arguments supporting both.
    I’m relatively new to the accounting world, but from what i’ve come across thus far I know that this section deals with management’s assessment of internal controls. I know I can obviously browse the web to find both sides of the argument, but I was just interested to see what you guys would suggest as good and bad about this section.
    Any help/input is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

• Getting over my inital reaction which is ‘Lord help us if this is how lawmakers get to their decisions’ I’ll give you my two cents on s404.

1. There is nothing in Section 404 that is at all objectionable. It is a short passage whcih requires a) management to report on internal control and b) the auditors to provide an opinion on that report.
      Read s404 below and ask yourself what is there really to object to.
      SEC. 404. MANAGEMENT ASSESSMENT OF INTERNAL CONTROLS.
      (a) RULES REQUIRED- The Commission shall prescribe rules requiring each annual report required by section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. 78m or 78o(d)) to contain an internal control report, which shall–
      (1) state the responsibility of management for establishing and maintaining an adequate internal control structure and procedures for financial reporting; and
      (2) contain an assessment, as of the end of the most recent fiscal year of the issuer, of the effectiveness of the internal control structure and procedures of the issuer for financial reporting.