SOX projects in Southern US 1906

• Hello Forum,
    I am a MBA with 20 pluse year of general accounting experience and 3 years SOX experience and recently relocated back to Florida. Work was plentiful in the Northern States NY, NJ however there seems to be limited work in the Tampa Bay area. I am curious as to what approach I should take in finding SOX work in this area because there doesn’t seem to be any advertising for SOX auditors in Tampa Bay.
    I am not a CPA. I am studying to sit for the CIA in May 2007. I missed the November exam because I was abroad. I really enjoy the work expecially process documentation and test plan review and testing.
    Committed to SOX and want to continue to stay in the field.
    Futura

• Hi Futura and welcome to the forums 🙂
    I have relatives in the Tampa/Clearwater area and it’s a great area that should have some sizeable firms. In some cases firms may not publicly advertise positions or may not have openings.
    Some suggestions include:

1. Find out the largest employers in your area – maybe through the Chamber of Commerce(s)
    2. Write an individual and unique cover letter to each major employer that’s most likely having a need to meet SOX requirements and send your resume as well (emphasizing the goals of working on the core SOX compliancy team)
    3. You might try some of the major job sites (see my last link at bottom) like Dice, Monster, etc
    4. Networking is a great way to discover jobs and while you’re currently at a disadvantage having recently moved, keep building contacts over time
    5. You might even call the HR department (or even manager of Audit) for each major employer asking about both SOX and audit positions available
    6. Keep an eye on the major newspapers and regional job websites