Hey Everyone 1834

• New to the forum and I’ve been lurking for sometime. A lot of good information and intelligent debate, that’s excellent.
    Just thought introduce myself. I’m a recent college grad with a decent amount of experience with SAP/Oracle sys administration. I’ve joined a company that’s primarily Oracle, so that’s currently becoming my strongest skill set.
    After completing an audit in part with EY, I spoke to a Senior Auditor and I feel auditing might be the right career path for me. I recently picked up a CISA book and I find the subject fascinating.
    The above being said, I do have a few questions.

• I feel I’m on a strong path to becoming an auditor. I’m enrolling for this summers CISA exam and I have a good amount of Oracle experience that’s growing each day. I also have a small amount of SAP r/3 experience. Do you agree that I should continue on the path I’m on or would you suggest I look into a few additional avenues of study? My plan is to work with Oracle three years and then look for an auditing position at a private firm or big 4.
    • Has anyone ever considered a number of questions that could/would determine if auditing is the right career path before going down that road? I think that would be very helpful, certainly in my case.
    • What are some pro’s/con’s about being an auditor (IT or Financial)? I’d like to eventually get into finance later in my career. Right now, I hate siting at my desk all day. I like to get out there, problem solve, and interact with people.
      I think that’s it for now, but I’m sure down the road I’ll have more to say and ask. I just wanted to introduce myself and commend everyone on the great information posted here.
      -Erich

• Pros of being a financial Auditor - Lets assume Big 4 firm:

1. You are with an organisation that will be of huge benefit to your CV in the future.