CIA Vs. CISA certification for IT professional 2102

• Hi,
    I am a PMP certified Sr. IT consultant and project manager. I have around 10 years experience. I am trying to explore the fields of IT auditing. In consulting I have done work on SOX on the architect level. Also, as a PM I have worked on quality assurance. I have the following questions:
    I know that a lot of IT auditors get into auditing after 2 - 3 years of work experience. I have around 10 years exp. Is it too late to get into IT audit make a career out of it? Will my overall IT experience be considered as valuable or will I be considered as an entry level IT auditor?
    I am interested in working on higher organizational level. That’s why I wanted to either get CIA or CISA certification. For the CIA, you need only 2 years audit exp. where quality assurance exp. counts (I hope IT quality assurance counts too). For CISA, you need to 5 years of exp. to get certified. Also, CIA seems to well regarded when compared to CISA (correct me if I am wrong). For these reasons, I am thinking of getting certified in CIA. Does CIA certification help in IT environment?
    Any sggestions are greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

• Hi - Personally, I see moving to an IT Auditor as possibly a lower position in the organizational structure when compared to the IT Project Manager role. Still with that said, there might be a little less stress, the opportunity to learn new skill sets, and perhaps following your career desires. A job or profession is more than just USDUSDUSD or rank in the company. You want to be happy as you devote the best hours of your day to earning a living.