Service Operations compliancy 2702

• Hello,
    I’m a database developer, however I’m not in the IT department. I work for Service Operations.
    I validate my own reports I create from a SQL server database that affect external customers. Am I violating SOX compliancy by doing this? Should I really have someone else valiating my reports?
    Thank you for any advice you can provide.
    Michelle 🙂

• Hi Michelle and welcome to the forums 🙂
    The purpose of SOX is to ensure Financial systems are well controlled, address material risks, and that financial workflows have proper oversight. However, SOX is often silent on detailed techniques because it allows a wide variety of companies flexibilities in achieving controls. Certainly, it is subject to interpretation as I’ve seen companies set up SOX related controls which are completely unrelated to the act itself.
    End users can generate their own reports for the company, but it should be done with some acertainment of risks and with proper checks-and-balances.
    Below are some key questions to evaluate:
    – Are these reports you generate financial in nature?
    – As you validate returned query results, do you balance to other controls or validate for reasonableness?
    – If errors were to be made, could it have a major impact on your company’s income, valuation, or expenses?
    – Could someone in your position in collusion with the external customers commit fraud of a significant nature?
    Some ideas and additional resources for clarification:
    – Sometimes controls can be setup, where users can validate their own work within a certain financial threshold. They would only need approval or validation from others on much larger transactions.
    – In your specific case, the external SOX auditors assigned to company would be the best judge of any additional controls needed.