Basic - 3 Part - Conflict of Interest, Employee Reporting... 3090

• I am an amateur to the SOX Act though I have worked for publically traded companies for most of my life. The company I currently work for consistently uses SOX as an excuse for why something is done a certain way, but I struggle to find resourses to support their claims. My questions are as follows -

1. Being in food service, I have always been responsible for purchasing, inventory, and the overall cost of the product I use, until now. I am told that I cannot be involved in purchasing or inventory of the product because of SOX. I cannot find where the SOX Act prohibits me from making purchasing decisions and tracking my inventory. Please advise.
    2. The company requires us to fill out a simple excel spreadsheet as we lose an employee, whether they were termed or quit. Can you explain the purpose for this as it specifically pertains to SOX?
    3. On a monthly basis I am required to answer several questions through an internet program called Policy IQ. The questions are easy for me to answer as the verbiage almost always contains the words ‘to the best of your knowledge’. I am a director with no signatory ability based on my position. To what extent can I be held accountable for the actions of others? I believe these questions are designed for the BOD to be able to pass responsibility on to others if there were ever to be an audit that turned up non-compliance issues.

• Chef - welcome to the forum. You are asking good questions. The broad answer to what you are asking comes down to your company’s interpretation of SOX and the internal controls framework that it has adopted along with the level of materiality that your company is trying to mitigate risk over.